12th Annual California Hispanic Health Professional Student Scholarship Gala

Sponsorship Information

Ads Information

Purchase Sponsorship, Ads, and Tickets HERE

6:30 PM  –  Registration and Reception

7:30 PM –  Dinner and Awards Ceremony

9:30 PM –  Dance 

The National Hispanic Foundation (NHHF), the philanthropic arm of the National Hispanic Medical Association (NHMA), invites you to our Twelfth Annual California Hispanic Health Professional Student Scholarship Gala. During our Gala, we are proud to announce the scholarship recipients from the Western United States, as well as the Hispanic Health Leadership Awardees who inspire us with their leadership for change in healthcare for our community.

Hispanics are the largest ethnic group in the United States, yet, there is a dearth of Hispanic health professionals with cultural and linguistic skills to deliver quality care for this growing population. In addition, Federal, State, local government and private sector healthcare agencies have minimal Hispanic representation in top leadership positions who can develop policies and programs targeted to the Hispanic community. NHHF is responding to these challenges by developing this unique national scholarship program to reward students in health professional schools for exceptional academic performance, leadership, and commitment to serving the Hispanic community. We believe they are the future Hispanic leaders of our nation.

Hispanic Health Leadership Honorees

Deborah Deas, MD, MPH
Mark and Pam Rubin Dean and Chief Executive Officer for Clinical Affairs
UC Riverside School of Medicine


Barbara Ferrer, PhD, MPH, MEd
Director of Public Health
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health


Carlos Gutierrez, MD, FAAP
Paso Del Norte Pediatrics, P.A.


Andrew Jahn
Adventist Health Southern California Region


Mario Jimenez, PharmD
Director of Diversity Initiatives
College of Pharmacy
Western University of Health Sciences


Edward Mena, MD
Hepatologist and Medical Director
Pasadena Liver Center
President and CEO
California Liver Research Institute (CLRI)


Scholarship Recipients

Lauro Avalos  – University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
Vanessa Banales  – University of California, Davis
Ian Castell – University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
Brittany Martinez  – Azusa Pacific University, School of Nursing
Jennifer Matas  – The University of Texas at Houston School of Public Health
Hilda Mejia-Pena 
 – University of California, San Diego
Andrew Munoz – University of California, San Francisco
Alberto Ortega  – Keck School of Medicine at USC

Cecilia Ramirez – David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Erik Rivas – University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
Victor Rodriguez – Texas A&M University College of Medicine
Areli Valencia – Stanford University School of Medicine
Claudia Zamarripa – UIW Feik School of Pharmacy




















Silvia Preciado, MD



Media Partner